Be More

Philanthropy Friday, June 23, 2017

Winner of the Week: Community Tampa Bay



2017 WEDU Be More Encouraged, Judges’ Choice Award Winner

Community Tampa Bay’s vision is a community free from all forms of discrimination. Community Tampa Bay works toward this ambitious vision by cultivating inclusive leaders to change communities through dialogue and cross-cultural interactions. Community Tampa Bay gives people the tools to have hard conversations with people who don’t look like them and empowers them to build relationships based on understanding and mutual respect.

Community Tampa Bay offers programs such as college and university partnerships, youth leadership conferences, professional education, and a 5-day, 4-night residential conference for teens called ANYTOWN. To learn more about these programs and the work this organization is doing in our communities, visit

The WEDU Be More Encouraged, Judges’ Choice Award is decided entirely by the panel of judges without any specific criteria but is based on overall appeal and gives the judges’ an opportunity to say “keep up the INCREDIBLE work that you do and thank you for serving our community.”


Follow along with the conversation on social media!
We’ll also share these stories weekly on WEDU’s official Facebook and Twitter accounts.



Past Philanthropy Fridays


Friday, June 16, 2017

Children First, Inc.

The mission of Children First is to strengthen children and families by improving the quality of their lives through a comprehensive approach to development, education, health and well-being.



Friday, June 9, 2017

Our Sponsors

Thank you to the 2017 WEDU Be More Awards sponsors. Your support helps spread the message of nonprofits around the Tampa Bay Area.



Friday, June 2, 2017

Melanie Salava

Melanie is a stage-three breast cancer survivor. Following treatments and once she was strong enough, Melanie walked 30 miles to raise awareness and funds for Florida Cancer Specialists Foundation.



Friday, May 26, 2017

Kelly Kowall

My Warrior’s Place in Ruskin, Florida, was founded by Kelly Kowall whose son Corey gave his life for our continued freedom. Each program offered by My Warrior’s Place plays an important role in the healing and coping process.



Friday, May 19, 2017

The Arc Tampa Bay Foundation

As a service provider for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities for 58 years, The Arc Tampa Bay Foundation has a long history of advocacy efforts in support of their mission, including a robust calendar of activities with special events like “A Night to Shine.”



Friday, May 12, 2017

Tampa Hillsborough Action Plan, Inc.

Tampa Hillsborough Action Plan (THAP), Inc.’s mission to provide results-driven programs that meet the economic, educational, health, housing, and social needs of urban and rural residents who experience challenges accessing mainstream resources.



Friday, May 5, 2017

The Luminaries

For the third year, WEDU PBS has partnered with The Junior League of Tampa to present The Luminaries – an annual recognition program to showcase outstanding individuals who have made a lasting impact on our community.



Friday, April 28, 2017

Coco’s Pet Ranch

Coco’s Pet Ranch works to rescue hard to adopt animals from unnecessary euthanasia, providing a safe, loving forever home for seniors, injured, blind, etc. or emergency shelter and rehabilitation for those “code red” animals.



Friday, April 21, 2017

Ryan Regan

Ryan Regan, a young volunteer with Suncoast Hospice/Empath Health in Clearwater has contributed more than 1,000 volunteer service hours in support of more than 240 families.



Friday, April 14, 2017

Give Day Tampa Bay

Give Day is your opportunity to learn more about the hundreds of nonprofits in our community and to support causes you care about. For the third year in a row, WEDU PBS is serving as the headquarters and media hub for Give Day, providing live streaming coverage of the event on Tuesday, May 2, 2017.



Friday, April 7, 2017

Angel Snugs, Inc.

Angel Snugs, Inc. started with the passion of wanting to help others and a hobby of knitting scarves. In the first year, Angel Snugs expanded nationally through the honor of being placed in the American Cancer Society's database as a patient resource providing scarfs or “snugs” to patients.



Friday, March 31, 2017

Announcing the return of Philanthropy Fridays

The WEDU Be More Awards were created to pay tribute to the many unsung heroes in the community served by WEDU – the area's primary PBS station and public media company. Continuing this mission, Philanthropy Fridays will highlight these award-winning volunteers and nonprofit organizations, encouraging a larger conversation about the benefits of philanthropy in our communities.



until the 2018 WEDU Be More Awards Luncheon & Ceremony

Thursday, February 22, 2018


The WEDU Be More Awards are open to all nonprofit organizations located in the WEDU PBS viewing area.

This includes: Hillsborough, Pinellas, Manatee, Sarasota, Charlotte, Desoto, Highlands, Hardee, Polk, Osceola, Orange, Lake, Sumter, Citrus, Hernando, and Pasco Counties.

The submission of an application or nomination is free of charge to all nonprofit organizations.

  • Organizations may apply in more than one category by submitting a separate and distinct application packet.
  • All campaigns, events, projects, and programs must have occurred between September 1, 2015 and August 31, 2016.
  • Application packets must be submitted in an organized and cohesive manner using the official 2017 WEDU Be More Awards application available for download. Submissions not meeting this condition will not be eligible for an award.
  • All submissions become the property of WEDU PBS and will not be returned.

The winning organizations will be announced during the WEDU Be More Awards luncheon on Thursday, February 23, 2017 at Bryan Glazer Family Jewish Community Center. (Tickets are required to attend.)


The WEDU Be More Awards consist of a variety of categories. Please review the categories to determine the format of your submission. Some categories will require a completed, printed and signed application with supporting materials, while other categories require an online nomination.

If the category you are applying for requires a completed, printed and signed application, all requested information must be included or the applying organization will not be eligible for an award.

For application categories:

  • Include 2-4 examples of materials supporting your application that demonstrates why your organization is the most deserving of a WEDU Be More Award.
  • Applications must include a current copy of organization IRS determination letter indicating 501(c)(3) status.
  • Submitting organizations must include six (6) identical submission packets including your 2-4 examples to be distributed for judging. Copies of your WEDU Be More Awards application must be included with each packet. Applications and supporting materials will not be returned.

Award applications must be postmarked by October 28, 2016. WEDU is located at 1300 N Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33607. Applications may be delivered to WEDU Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Hand delivered applications must arrive by 5 p.m. on October 28, 2016. Late submissions will not be accepted.


Final judging will take place from November 4, 2016 to December 12, 2016. The WEDU Be More Awards judges are impartial business, philanthropic and civic leaders from the WEDU viewing area. Judges will not review any organization’s application with which they have a personal or professional affiliation. All applications will be screened by WEDU staff members to ensure application criteria are met. Judges will not review incomplete applications. All judging is based on a point system. Top nominees in each category will be notified via telephone and a letter from WEDU no later than January 13, 2017. All decisions are final.