Finalists Named for the Eighth Annual WEDU Be More Awards™

December 21, 2012 (Tampa, FL) – Continuing the tradition of honoring Tampa Bay area nonprofit organizations, dedicated staff, volunteers and individuals, the eighth annual WEDU Be More Awards™ will take place on Thursday, February 21, 2013 at the A La Carte Event Pavilion in Tampa. The annual community event will begins at 11:00am with the Hall of Heroes followed by an inspiring luncheon and awards ceremony starting at 12:00pm.

Utilizing a panel of impartial judges who spent five weeks reviewing applications and nominations, WEDU, west central Florida’s primary PBS station and public media source, recognizes nonprofit organizations and individuals who have applied or were nominated for honors in a variety of categories ‐ culminating with one organization being named Nonprofit Organization of the Year (2012).

View the full list of finalists at

Tampa Bay’s own Lissette Campos, award‐winning journalist and host of the Positively Tampa Bay segment seen weekdays on ABC Action News along with Jack Harris, legendary media personality and co‐host the WFLA radio morning show will serve as the 2013 WEDU Be More Awards™ co‐hosts.

Tickets for the WEDU Be More Awards™ luncheon and ceremony taking place on Thursday, February 21, 2013 at the A La Carte Event Pavilion are $50 per person, $600 for Community Heroes table for 10, or $1,000 for a Philanthropist table of 10. For more information or to make reservations for the WEDU Be More Awards™ – an inspiring celebration of community goodwill – visit or call WEDU at (800) 354‐9338 ext 2241. The deadline for reservations is February 14, 2013.

The 2013 ceremony, celebrating outstanding achievements by individuals and nonprofit organizations in west central Florida, is supported in part by ABC Action News, The Bank of Tampa, Happy Feet Plus, The Tampa Tribune &, Pender Newkirk and Associates, Bernard F. & Mary Ann Powell Foundation, A La Carte Event Pavilion, AVSS, and American Marketing and Mailing Services.
(Download the full press release here)